Download here: 2019 CA Exhibitor Information
As stated in the exhibitor agreement, vendors are responsible for paying any sales tax required of them as well as obtaining any vendor or temporary vendor licenses required by the states each GHC event is held in each year.
The following links and information are provided for your convenience. If you have any licensing questions or any sales and use tax questions, please contact the Missouri Department of Revenue:
- Phone: (573) 751-5860
- Email: [email protected]
This information is from the Missouri Department of Revenue website.
Do I have to collect sales tax?
Yes, you must collect sales tax if you are selling retail to the public. Any person or company that is selling goods to a final consumer is required to collect and remit Missouri sales tax. It is your responsibility to ensure that you are collecting the correct tax rate.
You may be exempt from collecting sales tax if you or your spouse is at least 65 years of age and the income from the sales of handicraft items does not constitute more than 50% or your annual income . If you meet these qualifications, pay tax on your purchase, complete and display an Exemption Certificate for Sales of Handicraft Items (Form 2478PDF Document). Contact (573) 751-5860 or [email protected] for further information.
Do I have to get a sales tax license?
Yes, you must obtain a Missouri sales tax license.
How do I get a sales tax license?
A Missouri Special Events ApplicationForm 2643S, must be completed and submitted to the Missouri Department of Revenue. It can also be obtained by visiting our Business Tax Registration Forms page or by calling (800) 877-6881.
How do I report and pay sales tax?
You will file and pay on the preprinted reporting forms that are mailed to you by the Department. If you are unable to locate this form, you may obtain a blank Form 53-1PDF Document from our website or call (800) 877- 6881. If the location of the special event is not listed on your 53-1 reporting form, you may add the location and indicate “special event” along with the tax jurisdiction (city and/or county) of the special event.
- If products were sold at the event, give the breakdown for each city or county to allow the Department to distribute to the city or county their portion of the sales tax.
- If orders were taken and then fulfilled at your place of business, sales tax would be remitted using your business location.
Can I sell wholesale to other vendors or sellers?
You may sell-tax exempt to other vendors providing they have a valid sales tax license, they furnish you with their sales tax number and complete a Sales Tax Exemption Certificate (Form 149) for you to keep on file. A supply of these forms can be obtained by visiting our Business Tax Registration Forms page or by calling (800) 877-6881.
What if I live in another state?
Your responsibilities for collecting and remitting sales tax are the same as a Missouri resident. However, if you earn more than $600.00 in the state of Missouri, you may also be required to file a Missouri state income tax return.
If you still have questions, please check out other Business Tax FAQs.
For more information pertaining to Special Events, contact the Department of Revenue at (573) 751-5860, or email [email protected].
Sales Tax FAQ: https://dor.mo.gov/faq/business/sales.php
Sales/Use Tax: https://dor.mo.gov/business/sales/
Download here: 2018 CA exhibit hall floor plan
Download the schedule here (last updated 5/21): 2018 CA Workshop schedule
Seek Approved Vendor Status ASAP with California Charter Schools
A charter school is a term for a school that receives government funding but operates independently of the established public school system in which it is located, and in some cases is privately owned.
Not all California homeschooling families choose to be a part of a charter school. However, some homeschooling families in California do choose to supplement their homeschooling with classes offered at charter schools. As members of a charter school, parents can receive refunds for the purchase of approved curriculum and services from approved vendors. Charter schools create a list of approved material and service vendors for which parents can receive refunds.
To apply to be on the approved vendor list, please contact each of the charter schools listed below. Each of the charter schools listed will be exhibiting at the California Homeschool Convention due to their affiliation with CA homeschooling families. Charter schools have different approval times. Please contact each at your very earliest convenience.
Download here: 2018 CA Exhibit hall booth assignments 2018-05-02
Last updated May 2, 2018.
Your business may require a vendor license to make sales in the state of California. Visit California State Board of Equalization to obtain a temporary seller’s permit.
If your business does require that you obtain a temporary sellers permit for the state in which you are exhibiting, you also need to submit payment of sales tax after the conventions. Sales and use tax forms can be found at the website mentioned above.
Questions about taxes or licenses should be directed to the professionals at each state department.
Every person who engages in business in this state as a retailer must obtain a retail license before making any sales. This includes sales made online and persons who make infrequent sales in this state. If you have more than one business outlet, you must have a separate retail license for each location.
See the Ohio Department of Taxation site: https://www.tax.ohio.gov/sales_and_use/license.aspx